Member Panel

Your Profile

Manage Your Profile


Useful Links

Internal Documentation

Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM) are a great opportunity for all scientists within the COST Action to exchange visits, nurture collaborations, or develop new ones.  The COST association defines the STSM as exchange visits between researchers involved in a COST Action, allowing scientists to visit an institution or laboratory in another COST country.

Participants from a participating COST Country or Cooperative State can be hosted at

Participants from an approved NNC (Near Neighbour Country) institution or an approved European RTD Organization can only be hosted at

A European RTD Organisation is any intergovernmental scientific research organisation that is responsible for infrastructures and laboratories whose members are countries, and the majority of which are COST Member Countries or Cooperating State.

The details of the application procedure can be found in the How to apply section.


Eligible Home Institutions


Currently, the approved host institutions for applicants must be located in one of the following countries:

                                                                                                                                           eligible STSM home and host institutes


Austria Austria [AT]      
Belgium Belgium [BE]      
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina [BA]      
 Brasil [BR] (Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Físicas)      
Bulgaria Bulgaria [BG]      
Croatia Croatia [HR]      
Czech Republic Czech Republic [CZ]      
Denmark Denmark [DK]      
Estonia Estonia [EE]      
Finland Finland [FI]      
France France [FR]      
Germany Germany [DE]      
Greece Greece [EL]      
Hungary Hungary [HU]      
Ireland Ireland [IE]      
Israel Israel [IL]      
Italy Italy [IT]      
Malta Malta [MT]      
Netherlands Netherlands [NL]      
Norway Norway [NO]      
Poland Poland [PL]      
Portugal Portugal [PT]      
Romenia Romenia [RO]      
Russia Russia [RU] (JINR, Moscow State University)      
Serbia Serbia [RS]      
Slovenia Slovenia [SI]      
South Africa South Africa [ZA] (Rhodes University and Cape Town)      
Spain Spain [ES]      
Sweden Sweden [SE]      
Switzerland Switzerland [CH]      
Turkey Turkey [TR]      
United States of America United States of America [US] (Caltech, Earlham College, Johns Hopkins, Mississippi, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Virginia)      
United Kingdom United Kingdom [UK]