Member Panel

Your Profile

Manage Your Profile


Useful Links

Internal Documentation

WG2: Source modelling

Led by Leor Barack <l.barack _at_ soton.ac.uk>



The remit of WG2 is broadly defined as the modelling of physical systems involving black holes within General Relativity.  The focus is on the dynamics of inspiral and merger in black-hole binaries as sources of gravitational waves, and on the physics of strong-field black-hole interactions as probes of gravitational theory itself. Theoretical modelling is a crucial component in the experimental programme to detect gravitational waves: it underpins the science case for detector projects, informs design decisions, enables the detection of weak signals using matched filtering, and it is necessary for the interpretation and full science exploitation of detected signals. Specific topics of interest include (1) black-hole perturbation methods and self-force, (2) post-Newtonian and post-Minkowskian techniques, (3) Numerical Relativity (as applied to both the inspiral problem and to high-energy black hole collisions), (4) Effective and phenomenological models of binary inspirals, and (5) the impact on the data analysis problem for specific detector projects.  WG2 aims to provide an element of coordination, and a channel of exchange, between the efforts of an already-very-active community of theorists working on black-hole modelling in Europe.



WG2a: Perturbation methods

Barry Wardell
barry.wardell _at_ ucd.ie
WG2b: Post-Newtonian & post-Minkowskian methods

Alexandre Le Tiec
letiec _at_ obspm.fr
WG2c: Numerical Relativity (astro)

Patricia Schmidt
P.Schmidt _at_ astro.ru.nl
WG2d: Numerical Relativity (HEP)

Ulrich Sperhake
us248 _at_ maths.cam.ac.uk
WG2e: Effective and phenomenological methods

Tanja Hinderer
thinderer _at_ aei.mpg.de
WG2f: Impact on data analysis problem

Jonathan Gair
J.Gair _at_ ed.ac.uk



WG Members

Tiziano Abdelsalhin (Italy)

Miguel Ángel Aloy (Spain)

Theocharis Apostolatos (Greece) 

Leor Barack (UK)
Laura Bernard (Portugal)

Sebastiano Bernuzzi (Germany)

Christopher Berry (UK)

Jose Juan Blanco-Pillado (Spain)

Richard Brito (Germany)
Bernd Bruegmann (Germany)

Alessandra Buonanno (Germany)
Vitor Cardoso (Portugal)

Giancarlo Cella (Italy)

Pablo Cerdá-Durán (Spain)

Marta Colleoni (Spain) 
Geoffrey Compere (Belgium)

William Cook (UK)

Isabel Cordero-Carrión (Spain)

Pep Covas (Spain)

Károly Csukás (Hungary)

Mekhi Dhesi (UK) 

Sorin Dragomir (Italy)

Amelia Drew (UK)

Francisco Duque (Portugal)

Leanne Durkan (Ireland)

Areti Eleni (Greece) 

Recai Erdem (Turkey)
Valeria Ferrari (Italy)

Andrew Finch (Malta)

Kai Flathmann (Germany)

Jose Antonio Font (Spain)

Kwinten Fransen (Belgium)
Ryuichi Fujita (Portugal)
Jonathan Gair (UK)

Apratim Ganguly (South Africa)
Cecilio García (Spain)

Juan Garcia-Bellido (Spain)

Lucas Gardai Collodel  (Germany)

Davide Gerosa (USA)

Leonardo Gualtieri (Italy) 

Carsten Gundlach (UK)

Leila Haegel (France)
Maria Haney (Switzerland)

David Hilditch (Portugal)

Tanja Hinderer (Germany)

Seth Hopper (Portugal)
Sascha Husa (Spain)

Soichiro Isoyama (UK)

Xisco Jimenez-Forteza (Italy)

Kevin Kiely (Ireland)

Kostas Kokkotas (Germany)

Benjamin Leather (Ireland)

Alexandre Le Tiec (France)

Oliver Long (UK)

Georgios Loukes-Gerakopoulos (Czech Republic)

Raimon Lune (Spain)

Philip Lynch (Ireland)

Josh Mathews (Ireland)

Maarten van de Meent (Germany)

Christopher Moore (Portugal)
Andrea Nerozzi (Portugal)

David A. Nichols (Netherlands)

Samaya Nissanke (Netherlands)

Martin Obergaulinger (Spain)

Roberto Oliveri (Belgium)

Conor O' Toole (Ireland)

Paolo Pani (Italy)

Sohyun Park (Czech Republic)

Denis Pollney (South Africa)

Adam Pound (UK)
Geraint Pratten (Spain)

Istvan Racz (Poland)

Miren Radia (UK) 

Fethi Ramazanoglu (Turkey)
Antoni Ramos  (Spain)
Luciano Rezzolla (Germany)

Vladimir Rovenski (Israel)

Zeyd Sam (UK)

Nicolás Sanchis-Gual (Spain)
Patricia Schmidt (Netherlands)

Ali Seraj (Belgium)
Alicia Sintes (Spain)

Viktor Skoupy (Czech Republic)

Carlos Sopuerta (Spain)

Thomas Sotiriou (UK)
Ulrich Sperhake (UK)

Andrew Spiers (UK)

Nick Stergioulas (Greece)

Chris Stevens (South Africa)

Alejandro Torres-Forné (Spain)

Martina Toscani (Italy)

Anders Tranberg  (Norway)

Sam Upton (UK)

Niels Warburton (Ireland)

Barry Wardell (Ireland) 

Helvi Witek (Spain)

Vojtech Witzany (Czech Republic)

Kadri Yakut (Turkey)

Miguel Zilhão (Portugal)